Skip to content

Scott’s Book Sales Report for December 2018

In December 2018, sales were brisk.

The top selling book for the past month has been English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review) once again.

The second best seller has been Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950 – Present.

The latest release, Christmas Words and Phrases in English and Spanish comes in at number three; it was just released on December 8, 2018.

The rest of the list, in order, is My Life as a Song: The History of Recorded Music;

My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions;

65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus Momisms);

Restaurant Stories;

and finally. in eighth place, Walk – Don’t Run. Incidentally, this formerly middle school-aged fictional story has been revised to be a memoir about my life as a ten-year-old boy. It is still designed to be educational as it includes a great deal of history from the year 1960.

Have a great holiday season, and see you on here next year!

Scott Paulson

Advertisements

“Christmas Words and Phrases in English and Spanish” is now available

Christmas Words and Phrases in English and Spanishincludes hundreds of Christmas words and phrases as well as seasonal terms, listed in alphabetical order in English (in part one of the book) and in Spanish (in part two of the book). Translations from English to Spanish comprise part one, and translations from Spanish to English comprise part two. The table of contents’ hyperlinks assist readers with accessing the translations easily on their e-book devices.

The book ends with a thorough explanation of both languages’ pronunciations, in terms of phonics and accentuation. Beyond educational, the book is a great reference to persons who want to communicate in English and Spanish – especially during the holidays.

Merry Christmas! Feliz Navidad!

TOP-SELLING E-BOOKS: NOVEMBER 2018 BOOK SALES REPORT (and more)

As of November 17, 2018, these are Scott Paulson’s e-book sales rankings for the past month, as well as for all time.

Past Month

  1. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)
  2. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present
  3. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions
  4. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life

What a difference a month makes. Of the seven e-books that are available by me on Amazon.com, these are the four that sold in the past 31-day period – the past month. After “English and Spanish” had fallen to number three on the list last month, it returns to the number one spot after having a good month. “Instrumentals,” last month’s biggest seller falls to number two. With “Restaurant Stories” failing to sell any copies last month, “My Family Won’t Read My Books” and “65 Life’s Lessons” each moved up a notch.

All Time

  1. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)
  2. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lessons from Each Year of My Life
  3. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present
  4. Restaurant Stories
  5. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions
  6. Walk-Don’t Run
  7. My Life as a Song: The History of Recorded Music

“English and Spanish” takes a bigger lead as the best-selling e-book of the seven. Though “Instrumetals” is increasing, it still has a long way to go to catch “65 Life’s Lessons.”

Last month, it was reported that a second book about the English and Spanish languages was the WIP (work in progress). That project needed a break, as it was becoming quite burdonsome and a larger undertaking than originally thought to be. During an interim break from that project, an exciting new project, which involves current and on-going research has temporarily become the newest WIP.

Since writing is my free-time, self-designated job, I allow myself to go with the flow. It seems strange to call writing a ‘job’ when I enjoy doing it so much.

Thanks for stopping by and keeping up. I sincerely appreciate your interest. Have a great Thanksgiving. Here’s hoping you enjoy your family, friends, and some great books throughout this year’s holiday season.

-Scott

 

TOP-SELLING E-BOOKS: OCTOBER 2018 BOOK SALES REPORT (and more)

As of October 15, 2018, these are Scott Paulson’s e-book-sales rankings for the past month, as well as for all time.

Past month:

  1. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present
  2. Restaurant Stories
  3. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)
  4. My Life as a Song: The History of Recorded Music
  5. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus Momisms)
  6. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions
  7. Walk – Don’t Run (no sales in past month)

All time:

  1. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)
  2. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus Momisms)
  3. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present
  4. Restaurant Stories
  5. Walk – Don’t Run
  6. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions
  7. My Life as a Song: The History of Recorded Music

After a robust summer of e-book sales, the past month has slowed. It’s difficult to determine the reason why this has happened. After all, the same efforts are being made on Twitter (@AuthorSPaulson), as well as with Amazon’s Marketing program, that were used in the past. Hopefully, with people staying in more and finding more time to read, sales will improve once again.

It is encouraging to see increased sales for ‘Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present’ and ‘Restaurant Stories,’ but it is surprisingly disappointing to see ‘English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)’ taper off. After all, it’s the beginning of the school year and the educational book is designed to assist people with learning the two languages, English and Spanish.

The book that is currently being written is a book about the English and Spanish languages. Much different than the last book about the languages, the new book will have translations from English to Spanish. A great deal of work is going into the book through research, as well as conversations and interviews with native Spanish speakers and English speakers. Through this effort, among other things in the vast amount of text, there will be contemporary words and phrases that are not found in other books that translate from English to Spanish or vice versa. Besides including all the basics for language learners, the book will be a  must-read for people who want to know current words and expression in both languages. For me, it’s a very enjoyable project as I love to learn, and I am learning so much as I write the book.

Thanks for reading my latest. #LoveToRead #LoveToWrite #LoveToLearn

-Scott

Book Sales Report (08/2018)

According to Amazon’s reported sales through August 21, 2018, this is the rank order of book sales:

  1. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review) 
  2. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus ‘Momisms’) 
  3. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present 
  4. Walk-Don’t Run 
  5. Restaurant Stories 
  6. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions 
  7. My Life as a Song: The Life of a Song 

All e-books are available at Amazon.com. For convenience, enter through the Author’s Page. CLICK HERE

The greatest gainer in August 2018 has been Restaurant Stories. It had a 150% increase in sales.

‘Momisms’ (from “65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life”)

Here is a portion of the content in 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus Momisms). Actually, this is from the Bonus section entitled ‘Momisms.’

A ‘momism’ is advice mothers gave their children when the children were young. At the end of the book 65 Life’s Lessons, I included 65 of them as an extra feature at the end of the book. Here are a few of them:

  • Eat your bread crust; it will curl your hair.
  • You better NOT be saying that to your sister.
  • Always tell the truth, or you’ll be in more trouble.
  • You don’t have to get all A’s, but I don’t want to see any C’s on that report card, either.
  • You’re free and American; you can do whatever you want.
  • Don’t forget anything when we leave; we don’t tip much when we’re on vacation away from home, and I don’t want to have to come back in here.
  • You make your parents proud.

Of course, you can read the 65 life’s lessons and all of the ‘momisms’ in the e-book available at Amazon.com. The link to the ebook follows:

65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus ‘Momisms’)

What’s the best, or most unusual, advice your mother ever gave you? If you have any ‘momisms’ you’d like share, please do so in the comment section of this page.

-Scott

July 2018’s Best Seller

During the month of July 2018, English and Spanish: The Similarities and Difficulties (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)  sold more copies than any other books I have written. It also sold more copies than it had in the previous months in which it has been available. This was surprising because the 99-cent offer had ended. Once again, the e-book is available on Amazon.com for Amazon’s suggested price of $2.99.