Skip to content

TOP-SELLING E-BOOKS: OCTOBER 2018 BOOK SALES REPORT (and more)

As of October 15, 2018, these are Scott Paulson’s e-book-sales rankings for the past month, as well as for all time.

Past month:

  1. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present
  2. Restaurant Stories
  3. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)
  4. My Life as a Song: The History of Recorded Music
  5. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus Momisms)
  6. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions
  7. Walk – Don’t Run (no sales in past month)

All time:

  1. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)
  2. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus Momisms)
  3. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present
  4. Restaurant Stories
  5. Walk – Don’t Run
  6. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions
  7. My Life as a Song: The History of Recorded Music

After a robust summer of e-book sales, the past month has slowed. It’s difficult to determine the reason why this has happened. After all, the same efforts are being made on Twitter (@AuthorSPaulson), as well as with Amazon’s Marketing program, that were used in the past. Hopefully, with people staying in more and finding more time to read, sales will improve once again.

It is encouraging to see increased sales for ‘Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present’ and ‘Restaurant Stories,’ but it is surprisingly disappointing to see ‘English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)’ taper off. After all, it’s the beginning of the school year and the educational book designed to assist people with learning the two languages, English and Spanish.

The book that is currently being written is a book about the English and Spanish languages. Much different than the last book about the languages, the new book will have translations from English to Spanish. A great deal of work is going into the book through research, as well as conversations and interviews with native Spanish speakers and English speakers. Through this effort, among other things in the vast amount of text, there will be contemporary words and phrases that are not found in other books that translate from English to Spanish or vice versa. Besides including all the basics for language learners, the book will be a  must-read for people who want to know current words and expression in both languages. For me, it’s a very enjoyable project as I love to learn, and I am learning so much as I write the book.

Thanks for reading my latest. #LoveToRead #LoveToWrite #LoveToLearn

-Scott

Advertisements

Book Sales Report (08/2018)

According to Amazon’s reported sales through August 21, 2018, this is the rank order of book sales:

  1. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review) 
  2. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus ‘Momisms’) 
  3. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present 
  4. Walk-Don’t Run 
  5. Restaurant Stories 
  6. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions 
  7. My Life as a Song: The Life of a Song 

All e-books are available at Amazon.com. For convenience, enter through the Author’s Page. CLICK HERE

The greatest gainer in August 2018 has been Restaurant Stories. It had a 150% increase in sales.

‘Momisms’ (from “65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life”)

Here is a portion of the content in 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus Momisms). Actually, this is from the Bonus section entitled ‘Momisms.’

A ‘momism’ is advice mothers gave their children when the children were young. At the end of the book 65 Life’s Lessons, I included 65 of them as an extra feature at the end of the book. Here are a few of them:

  • Eat your bread crust; it will curl your hair.
  • You better NOT be saying that to your sister.
  • Always tell the truth, or you’ll be in more trouble.
  • You don’t have to get all A’s, but I don’t want to see any C’s on that report card, either.
  • You’re free and American; you can do whatever you want.
  • Don’t forget anything when we leave; we don’t tip much when we’re on vacation away from home, and I don’t want to have to come back in here.
  • You make your parents proud.

Of course, you can read the 65 life’s lessons and all of the ‘momisms’ in the e-book available at Amazon.com. The link to the ebook follows:

65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (Plus ‘Momisms’)

What’s the best, or most unusual, advice your mother ever gave you? If you have any ‘momisms’ you’d like share, please do so in the comment section of this page.

-Scott

July 2018’s Best Seller

During the month of July 2018, English and Spanish: The Similarities and Difficulties (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review)  sold more copies than any other books I have written. It also sold more copies than it had in the previous months in which it has been available. This was surprising because the 99-cent offer had ended. Once again, the e-book is available on Amazon.com for Amazon’s suggested price of $2.99.

 

Book Sales Report (7/2018)

According to Amazon’s reported sales through July 25, 2018, this is the rank order of book sales:

  1. 65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (plus Momisms) – released May 2017
  2. English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review) – released July 2017
  3. Walk-Don’t Run – released June 2017
  4. Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950-Present – released January 2018 – (tie with number 5)
  5. My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions – released February 2018 (tie with number 4)
  6. Restaurant Stories – released April 2018
  7. My Life as a Song: The Life of a Song – released July 2018

Note: My Life as a Song: The Life of a Song was released one week before this list was published. Book Sales Report updated once a month.

 

 

Scott Paulson’s Writing Blog

My blog is about writing. To begin, here is a list of the e-books I have written:

A brief description of each one of my books, which are available on Amazon.com follows:

65 Life’s Lessons: The Most Important Lesson from Each Year of My Life (plus Momisms) has a self-explanatory title. Besides telling the most important lessons life has taught me, I reveal advisements from my mother by writing treasured ‘Momisms” at the end of the book.

Walk-Don’t Run is a young adult book in which the main character grows up in 1960 in Joliet, Illinois, which is a large city to the southwest of Chicago. The book is historically accurate to the time-period and is appropriate for all ages. The book was written with primarily middle school students in mind, as the historical content is designed to integrate history lessons centered around 1960. There are references to popular music of the day as the title is the Ventures’ popular instrumental recording, Walk–Don’t Run. In addition, there are references to national and international politics and politicians with focus on President John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, and other historical persons. There are also references to actual locations and events from Chicago’s past, including Riverview Park.

English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review) is an academic book for one learning English from Spanish or vice versa, or for one who simply has an interest in learning more about the two languages. I have taught English and ESL (English as a Second Language) during my 41-year teaching career. While teaching ESL, I documented similarities and differences between the two languages and shared them with my students. This method of teaching English to Spanish speakers was very helpful to my students while also greatly assisting me to learn Spanish, if which I am now fluent. The result of his documentation of the similarities and differences between English and Spanish is the book titled English and Spanish: The Similarities and Differences (Including an Extensive Grammar and Phonics Review).

Instrumentals: The Number One Instrumental Recordings from 1950 to 2018 is a researched writing about the popular instrumental music recordings that have reached number one on the United States’ popular music charts, specifically Billboard magazine’s popular music charts, over a 68-year period beginning in 1950. The book is about the songs, the recording artists, the songwriters, the stories behind the recordings themselves, as well as additional information related to the recordings’ histories. The extensive research for this book was done as a labor of love, as I have had much involvement in the music industry throughout my life. Besides being a published and recorded songwriter, I was a first clarinetist touring Europe with the School Band of America, a station manager at my college’s radio station, a part-time employee at several Chicago-area music radio stations during my teaching years, a public school band director for several years, and a disc jockey at two night clubs during the teaching years. Additionally, I am a fan of many genres of music. The book has a great deal of information, including rare trivia, which will interest people in the music business as well as fanatics of recorded music.

My Family Won’t Read My Books: About Venting Emotions is a researched writing about the pros and cons of venting angers and frustrations, as well as detailed descriptions of the many methods in which people may consider venting their emotions for positive results. Beyond the research on venting, and in spite of the book’s whimsical title, My Family Won’t Read My Books reveals my personal vents, as well as my methods of dealing with them successfully.

Restaurant Stories is a book in which I tell about my most horrendous restaurant experiences as well as my greatest ones. I have dined out several times a week for more than five decades and have many stories to share. Diners, restaurant employees, restauranteurs, and many others will enjoy reading the stories I have to share, as the stories are sometimes shocking and often humorous.

My Life as a Song: The Life of a Song is a historical fictional novel uniquely told from a successful song’s perspective. The story is based on researched truths about the history of recorded songs as well as the history of popular music from the 1890s to the present.

I live in the Chicago area and currently spend most of his time writing and doing research for my writings. On Twitter, I am @AuthorSPaulson. My preferred email address is: teacherpaulson@yahoo.com. I also have an author’s page on Amazon’s Author Central.

Thanks for visiting my blog!

-Scott